The application period for candidates for the second edition of the Carmen Mateu Young Artist European Award, Opera and Dance came to a close at midnight on 28 February, after opening on 27 November, 2020. This year’s edition received 39 applications from 15 different countries, in an event that aims to recognise and promote the career of young opera composers.

From this point on, the nominations will be placed in hands of an expert committee consisting of Karin Dietrich, playwright, librettist and director of the Institute of Contemporary Music IZM Frankfurt, Francesc Prat, conductor and composer, Dietrich Grosse, director of the New and Pocket Opera project, and Bárbara Lluch, stage director, to select a short list of 12 nominees to be submitted to a jury that, this year, includes composer and 2020 National Music Award winner Raquel García-Tomás; the artistic director of the Teatro Real de Madrid Joan Matabosch; the music director of the Gran Teatre del Liceu de Barcelona, honorary conductor of the Spanish National Orchestra and 1999 National Music Award winner Josep Pons; and Music Prize of the City of Munich winner (Musikpreis der Landeshauptstadt München), Mexican composer and soprano Diana Syrse.

The winner of the second edition of the Carmen Mateu Young Artist European Award, Opera and Dance will be announced at the end of May 2021, and will receive a cash prize worth 30,000 euros as a commission for a new composition. In addition, the winner will be presented with an award designed by international artist Santi Moix and crafted by prestigious creative jewellers Bagués Masriera, as well as the chance to be mentored by composer Alberto García Demestres during the creative process of the composition.

The award was established in 2019 with the goal of supporting emerging artists in the fields of opera and dance, in honour of the memory and legacy of Carmen Mateu, founder of the Castell de Peralada International Music Festival.

The Castell de Peralada Foundation receives support from Opera Europa and the European Festival Association (EFA) to promote the award.